Types of Automobile Licenses in India

Road permits for automobiles are issued depending on the use of the vehicle and the area of ​​operation. This article will help you understand the different types of vehicle licenses issued in India.

When it comes to permits, automobiles are mainly divided into two categories – passenger vehicles and commercial vehicles.

License for passenger vehicles:

1. School bus or institution:

Vehicles that receive this permit are painted golden yellow and are exempt from road tax. These vehicles belong to educational institutions.


2. All India Tourist Permit (AITP):

All India Tourist Permit is issued to white luxury buses, with a 5cm wide blue ribbon, positioned in the center of the bus body. In addition, the words “Tourist” must appear on both sides of the vehicle.

3. Taxi rental permit:

To obtain a taxi hire permit, the applicant must comply with the following conditions –

  • The applicant must have a phone that works 24/7.
  • There should be a legal parking space available.
  • Enough experience in the field of transport.
  • Owner of at least 50 air-conditioned vehicles.
  • Tourist tax is paid in the state where the vehicle is driven.

4. Temporary permit:

A temporary permit allows a vehicle to be driven outside of Delhi for a limited period of time. This permit is permitted under the following circumstances –

  • For religious events or business.
  • For vehicles that have to move for periodic business purposes.
  • Vehicles circulating to request license renewal.

5. Scenic Transportation Permit:

From time to time, state transport companies announce the granting of transport permits according to bus needs for the different routes in the city or district. These permits are then granted either to state-owned buses or to other private operators that regularly carry passengers on these urban routes.

6. Ecological Sewa:

This permit is issued to a vehicle that has three wheels and is battery operated. In addition, the number of seats must not exceed 11, including the driver.


7. Phat Phat Sewa:

Vehicles that travel on a fixed route and can accommodate up to 10 people, including the driver, receive this permit.

8. Maxi Cab licence:

Vehicles that take passengers on a fixed route and have a maximum seating capacity of 12 to 13 (varies by state), including the driver, receive this permit.

9. Rickshaw and taxi permits:

These permits are issued to three- and four-wheeled vehicles carrying passengers. The fare is calculated by the meter mounted on the vehicle.

10. Charter Bus Permits:

A charter bus that a permit holder may operate under contract with their customer for a specified destination within or outside the city. For this, an agreement must be signed between the customers and the operators and the list of passengers must also be available from the bus driver. The permit holder cannot choose passengers other than those mentioned in the list.

Authorizations for utility vehicles:

1. Freight Carrier Authorization:

The freight carrier license is mandatory for vehicles that transport freight. This permit is granted under section 79 of the Motor Vehicles Act 1988. It allows a vehicle to circulate in a state.

2. Counter-signatures of goods carrier authorizations:

This permit is issued by one state but may be valid in different states with the approval of the relevant state or Regional Transportation Authority. In Delhi, counter-signatures are refused for vehicles with a gross weight of more than 7,500 kg and which do not run on clean fuels.

3. National Permits:


National permits are issued to vehicles transporting goods, to be able to operate outside the State of origin. This permit is issued for four continuous states, including the state of origin. To obtain the national license, the age of the vehicle must not be more than 12 years, for the multi-axle vehicle, the age must not be more than 15 years.

For the latest car news and reviews, follow carandbike.com on TwitterFacebook and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Comments are closed.